Wheat Ridge News in a Hurry

Jeffco School board candidates emerging

Voters will decide on three Jefferson County Board of Education director positions this fall — with the possibility that all three of them could end up being open seats.

Robin Johnson, a District 1 incumbent, will not be running for re-election. Two other incumbents — Laura Boggs of District 2 and Paula Noonan of District 5 — have yet to announce their intentions as of Aug. 6.

So far, six candidates — two in each district — had filed information with the Secretary of State’s Office and are listed as “active” candidates, as of Aug. 6.

Candidates in District 1, which covers the north area of the county, include Tonya Aultman-Bettridge and Julie Marie Williams, both of Westminster.

Candidates in District 2, a west central and mountain district, include Jeff Lamontagne of Lakewood and John Newkirk of Conifer.

And the two candidates in District 5, the south Jefferson County district, are Gordon “Spud” Van de Water and Ken Witt, both of Littleton.

Candidates were able to begin picking up petitions and election forms from the Board of Education/Superintendent’s office on Aug. 7. They must collect at least 50 verified signatures of registered Jefferson County voters for their names to appear on the ballot this fall.

Interested candidates have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 30, to drop off completed forms and petition signatures to the Board of Education/Superintendent’s office, 1829 Denver West Drive, Building 27, 4th floor.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment